Wednesday, July 11, 2007

CFDA Inducts 30 Newbies

Diane von Furstenberg is a proud fashion mama. At yesterday's board meeting, the Council accepted 30 new designers (out of a record number of applicants) across the categories of women' s wear, men's wear, women's and men's, and accessories. The new members are:

Women's wear: Laura Poretzky for Abaeté, Tory Burch, Richard Chai, Rachel Roy, Phillip Lim for 3.1 Phillip Lim, Marchesa's Georgina Chapman and Keren Craig, Victoria Bartlett of VPL, Lela Rose, Andreas Melbostad for Phi, Kate and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte, Michelle Smith for Milly, Paul Sinclaire for Tevrow+Chase, Wenlan Chia for Twinkle by Wenlan, Mary Ping, and Jean Yu of Jean Yu design Studio

Men's wear: Keanan Duffy for Slinky Vagabond and Henry Jacobson

Women's and men's wear: Pina Ferlisi for Generra, Michael Ball of Rock & Republic, David Neville and Marcus Wainwright for Rag & Bone, Adam Lippes for adam­pluseve and James Perse

Accessories: Monika Botkier of Botkier handbags, Jessie Randall for Loeffler Randall, Mimi So, Michael Spirito for Exhibitionist and Justin Giunta for Subversive Jewelry.

New inductees will be honered at an invitation-only party at the DVF Studio on July 30.