Tuesday, March 11, 2008

CFDA 2008 Nominees

The CFDA announced its 2008 nominees last night at the Rooftop Gardens atop Rockerfeller Center. Making the grade were:

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Francisco Costa of Calvin Klein
Marc Jacobs
Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough of Proenza Schouler

Men's wear Designer of the Year
Michael Bastian
Thom Browne
Tom Ford

Accessory Designer of the Year
Tory Burch
Marc Jacobs
Michael Kors

Swarovski Award for Womenswear
Kate and Laura Mulleavy of Rodarte
Thakoon Panichgul
Alexander Wang

Swarovski Award for Men's wear
Patrick Ervell
Tim Hamilton
Scott Sternberg of Band of Outsiders

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
Philip Crangi
Justin Giunta for Subversive Jewelry
Joy Gryson

Additionally, Dries van Noten will receive the International Award; Carolina Herrera will receive the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award; Mayor Bloomberg will get the Board of Director’s Special Tribute and Style.com’s Candy Pratts Price will receive the Eugenia Sheppard Award for fashion journalism.

The awards will take place on June 2nd at the NY Public Library. Fran Lebowitz will emcee.